Chunky Chicken Stew

Now I’ve never been much of a cook – I get anxious when I have to follow a recipe – so I’ve had to push myself outside my comfort zone of the oh-so-fancy meat with a salad. When I decided to try this stew the first time I was motivated by 2 things – the desire to add more veggies into my diet, and the desire to not throw away the veggies in my fridge. 🙂 Every time I make this it consists of a slightly different combo of veggies – whatever sounds good, or needs to be used up. This combination was especially tasty!

1 tbsp olive oil
1 tsp minced garlic
1 pkg of boneless skinless chick thighs
1 tbsp dried basil
fresh ground pepper
1/2 lg white onion roughly diced
3 lg carrots cut in half and then 1/4″ slices
2 celery stalks cut in 1/4″ slices
1 pkg oyster mushrooms diced (about 2 cups)
(or 1 lg portabella mushroom cap diced is also delicious!)
1 lg zucchini sliced 1/4″ thick and quartered
2 Roma tomatoes diced
5-6 baby red and yellow bell pepper cut in half and then 1/4″ slices
5-6 chives cut in 1/4″ slices
1 can tomato sauce (I used Glen Muir organic sauce)
1 can diced tomatoes (I used Full Circle organic)
2 tbsp chopped fresh oregano
more fresh ground pepper
a pinch of sea salt

– Add the olive oil and garlic in the bottom of the crockpot
– Lay chicken thighs out in the bottom of the crockpot (using thighs to spread the olive oil)
– Sprinkle dried basil and fresh ground pepper over chicken
– Turn crock pot on high
– Add layers of veggies
– Pour tomato sauce and diced tomatoes on top
– Season with fresh oregano, more fresh ground pepper, and sea salt
– Gently stir seasoning and sauce down into the veggies
– Cook for 3 hours (I stirred it about each hour)
– Dig chicken thighs off the bottom and break them up with a couple of forks (I pulled them out onto a plate to do this)
– Stir chicken chunks back into the stew and turn on low for an hour

All of the beautiful produce that went into this stew!
20130625-205545.jpg
And the delicious result!
20130625-205559.jpg

Leave a Reply

